The ‘audio selfie’ — a different kind of interview evolves at StoryCorps

An idea to be pondered and adapted to our weekly classroom routines / projects

TED Blog

StoryCorps-app With the StoryCorps app, people are taking ‘audio selfies.’ Photo: David Andrako Photography

A few weeks ago, I was driving to the grocery store listening to an interview between a mother and daughter, Elizabeth and Sara Bell. I was astonished to hear the intimacy of their conversation. Elizabeth wants to interview her mother, who is 65 and suffering from dementia, because she is afraid that the disease will take away her mother’s ability to speak. She says, “I want to record your voice so I can listen to it over and over.”

Her mother has such a moving response. “Oh well, listen to this,” she says: “I love you, I love you, I love you!”

So many thousands of interviews have been pouring in since we launched the StoryCorps app at TED2015 that we’re struggling to keep up with them. I listen on the subway, on the way to…

View original post 635 more words

Leave a Reply

